TSL Alumni


Since the founding of the lab in 1988, TSL has been the scientific home to a large number of students, post-docs and group leaders. Many of these have become leading researchers in the field of plant-microbe interactions and have since moved on to illustrious positions elsewhere.

David Baulcombe Group leader at TSL 1988-2007. Currently Professor of Botany at the University of Cambridge, David conducted his Lasker Medical Prize-winning work on small RNAs at the Sainsbury Laboratory.

Mike Daniels Group leader at TSL 1988-2001. Mike was another of the ‘founding fathers’ of the laboratory and was the first Head of Laboratory. Mike retired from the laboratory in 2001.

Volker Lipka Group leader at TSL 2007-2009. Volker is currently Professor of Plant Cell Biology at the Department of Plant Cell Biology, Albrecht-von-Haller-Institute for Plant Sciences, Gottingen.

Anne Osbourne Group leader at TSL 1999-2005, Anne is now Head of Department of the Metabolic Biology Department at John Innes Centre.

Jane Parker Group leader at TSL 1999-2001. Jane is now a group leader at the Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research in Cologne.

Martin Parniske  Post-doc and subsequently Group leader at TSL 2003-2005. Martin is currently Head of Genetics at LMU in Munich, Germany.

Scott Peck Group leader at TSL 2000-2005. Scott is now Associate Professor of Biochemistry at the University of Missouri.

Paul Schulze-Lefert Group leader at TSL 1995-2000. Currently Director of the Max Planck Institute for Plant Breeding Research in Cologne.

Ken Shirasu Group leader at TSL 2000-2006. Ken is currently leading the Plant Immunity Research Group at Riken, Yokahama, Japan.

Olivier Voinnet PhD student and Post-doc at TSL 1996-2002. Olivier currently heads a group at the Institut de Biologie Moléculaire des Plantes, Strasbourg.