The Sainsbury Laboratory is advised by a Council consisting of Trustee Directors and Scientific Advisors

Trustee Directors

Professor Nick Talbot, University Exeter (Chair)

Mr Peter Hesketh, Gatsby Charitable Foundation

Dr Roger Freedman, Gatsby Advisor

Professor Dave Petley, University of East Anglia

Professor Dale Sanders, John Innes Centre

Professor Neil Gow, University of Aberdeen


Scientific Advisors

Professor Ben Scheres, University of Utrecht

Professor Brian Staskawicz, UC Berkeley

Professor Keiko Torii, Howard Hughes Medical Institute


Business Advisor



Ex Officio Members

Professor Cyril Zipfel, Head of Laboratory, TSL

Professor Sophien Kamoun, Senior Group Leader, TSL

Professor Jonathan Jones, Senior Group Leader, TSL


Company and Council Secretary

Debbie Feather